Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Translate this page

For Braille, large print or audio, please contact us.

AfPE Quality MarkAfPE Quality Mark

Youth Sport Trust Quality MarkYouth Sport Trust Quality Mark

PE Premium Award Winner - Whole School ImprovementPE Premium Award Winner - Whole School Improvement

The Primary EdgeThe Primary Edge

Eco-Schools Bronze AwardEco-Schools Bronze Award


Dear Friends,

We would like to take this opportunity to extend a very warm welcome to The Michael Syddall Church of England Aided School. We hope you find our website informative and user-friendly. We believe our school motto ‘Learning is the Key to the Future’ combined with our motivational approach to all that we do provides our children with a positive and exciting learning experience.

We believe in working together with staff, children, parents, St Anne’s Church, our local community and the wider world to make our school the very best possible. 

Our ‘Vision and Values’ outline the main characteristics of our school.

If you are within travelling distance of Catterick Village you are most welcome to come and see us in action! We love having visitors! If you live further afield we hope you enjoy reading about us.


Governing Body and Committee Structure and Responsibities 

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the three core strategic functions of Michael Syddall C of E (Aided) School Governing Body are:


1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


The Governing Body is made up of representatives from the local authority, the Diocese, elected parents and members of school staff. The Headteacher and the Ex-Officio both have an ongoing term of office. All other governors serve a four year term of office before needing to seek re-election or re-appointment.


In addition to the main Governing Body we have two governor committees:

School Improvement Committee - oversees the school’s support for learning, curriculum design and monitoring of pupil outcomes.

Resources Committee - oversees the school’s financial, staffing, health and safety, facilities, resources and asset management.

The Full Governing Body meets 4 times a year and the Committees meet once a term.


List of Governors


Name Term Committee Position

 Foundation Governor

 Mr Robert Knowles 31/08/2013 - 31/08/2017 Resources

Chair of Governors

Chair of Resources


 Mrs Alison McHarg

 01/01/2013 - 


School Improvement

 Ex Officio - Foundation

 Rev Lindsay Southern

 23/01/2012 -

School Improvement

Chair of School


 Foundation Governor

 Mr Doug Todd

 09/02/2015 - 09/02/2019

School Improvement


 Foundation Governor

 Mrs Susan Nicholson

 13/03/2017 - 13/03/2021


School Improvement


 Foundation Governor

 Mrs Ceri Tucker

 09/06/2015 - 09/06/2019

School Improvement


Foundation Governor

 Mr Graham Bannister

 04/04/2017 - 04/04/2021


 Vice Chair of Governors

 Parent Governor

 Mrs Alex Kilvington

 17/05/2016 - 17/05/2020

 School Improvement


 Co-opted Governor

 Mrs Jackie McGilp

 11/05/2015 - 11/05/2019



 Staff Governor

 Mr Neil Saunders  21/11/2016 - 21/11/2020 School Improvement  

 LEA Governor

 Cllr Carl Les 31/08/2017 - 31/08/2021


School Improvement


Parent Governor

Mrs Joanne Jackson  



Foundation Governor

Mrs Valentina Young  



Foundation Governor

Mr Phil Bennington  



 Resigned Governor

Mrs Helen Robson 12/01/2016 - 10/07/2017


Chair of Governors

Resigned July 17

In Attendance





Dianne Mousley  

School Improvement

Full Governing Body



Governor Register of Interests


Register of Personal Interests

Register of Business Interests

Register of Financial Interests

Membership of other Governing Bodies

Mr Robert Knowles Nil A1 Environmental Nil None
Mr Carl Les Nil NYCC Elected Member


Aiskew & Leeming Bar Primary School,

Northallerton and Catterick Federation 

Mrs Alison McHarg Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Alex Kilvington Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Jackie McGilp Nil Nil Nil None
Mr Graham Bannister Nil Nil Nil None
Mr Neil Saunders Nil Nil Nil None
Rev Lindsay Southern Nil Nil

Margaret Earle Charity,

Michael Syddall Charity,

Michael Syddall Education Charity,

Friends of St Anne's,

Cattterick Parish Church Council

Mr Doug Todd Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Ceri Tucker Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Susan Nicholson  Nil Nil  Nil  None 


Covid 19 - Please see our updated privacy policy here

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?