Dear Friends,

We would like to take this opportunity to extend a very warm welcome to The Michael Syddall Church of England Aided School. We hope you find our website informative and user-friendly. We believe our school motto ‘Learning is the Key to the Future’ combined with our motivational approach to all that we do provides our children with a positive and exciting learning experience.

We believe in working together with staff, children, parents, St Anne’s Church, our local community and the wider world to make our school the very best possible. 

Our ‘Vision and Values’ outline the main characteristics of our school.

If you are within travelling distance of Catterick Village you are most welcome to come and see us in action! We love having visitors! If you live further afield we hope you enjoy reading about us.


Governing Body and Committee Structure and Responsibities 

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the three core strategic functions of Michael Syddall C of E (Aided) School Governing Body are:


1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


The Governing Body is made up of representatives from the local authority, the Diocese, elected parents and members of school staff. The Headteacher and the Ex-Officio both have an ongoing term of office. All other governors serve a four year term of office before needing to seek re-election or re-appointment.


In addition to the main Governing Body we have two governor committees:

School Improvement Committee – oversees the school’s support for learning, curriculum design and monitoring of pupil outcomes.  This committee meets at full governing body meetings which are held 4 times a year.

Resources Committee – oversees the school’s financial, staffing, health and safety, facilities, resources and asset management.

This committee meets once a term.

List of Governors

Name Term Committee Position

Foundation Governor

Mr Robert Knowles 31/08/2013 – 11/01/2026


School Improvement

Full Governing Body

Chair of Governors

Vice-Chair of Resources


Mrs Alison McHarg

01/01/2013 – 


School Improvement

Full Governing Body

Ex Officio – Foundation

 Rev Lindsay Southern

23/01/2012 –

School Improvement

Full Governing Body

Chair of School



Co-opted Governor

 Mrs Jackie McGilp

11/05/2015 – 31/05/2023


School Improvement

Full Governing Body


Staff Governor

 Miss Katie Pritchard-Jenkins 26/01/2021 – 25/01/2025

School Improvement

Full Governing Body


LEA Governor

 Cllr Carl Les 31/08/2017 – 31/08/2025


School Improvement

Full Governing Body

 Chair of Resources

Foundation Governor

(previously Parent Governor)

Mrs Joanne Jackson 12/12/2017 – 11/01/2026


School Improvement

Full Governing Body

 Vice-Chair of Governors

Parent Governor     

Mrs Stacey Arling

10/02/2020 – 10/02/2024

School Improvement

Full Governing Body


Foundation Governor

Mrs Katy Howe  13/01/2022 – 11/01/2026 
Foundation Governor

 Mrs Janina Lynn


13/01/2022 – 11/01/2026

 Foundation Governor

Miss Catherine Evans 13/01/2022 – 11/01/2026





Sophie Watson

School Improvement

Full Governing Body



Governor Register of Interests


Register of Personal Interests

Register of Business Interests

Register of Financial Interests

Membership of other Governing Bodies

Mr Robert Knowles Nil A1 Environmental Nil None
Mr Carl Les Nil NYCC Elected Member

Michael Syddall Education Charity

Aiskew & Leeming Bar Primary School,

Northallerton and Catterick Federation 

Mrs Alison McHarg Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Jackie McGilp Nil Nil Nil None
Miss Katie Pritchard-Jenkins Nil Nil Nil None
Rev Lindsay Southern Nil Nil

Margaret Earle Charity,

Michael Syddall Charity,

Michael Syddall Education Charity,

Friends of St Anne’s,

Catterick Parish Church Council

Mrs Joanne Jackson   Nil Nil Nil None
Mrs Stacey Arling Nil Nil Nil None